After work yesterday, I stopped at ye old Target and picked up a bike helmet and speedometer for the new bike. I have decided it’s time to accept safety in wearing the helmet versus worrying about how it looks. I wanted the speedometer so I could track my rides better, this one even has a calorie counter built in. I’m proud of myself, I was able to install the speedometer by myself. I opted for the wireless model because it sounded easier to install.

After I got everything put together it was time for my first real ride. I took it out around the neighborhood and into Woods Park. I don’t have any lights yet so I have to be pretty watchful of the sunlight so I turned back after about half an hour. I ended up having a moving time of around 18 minutes and rode 2.8 miles. Learning when to shift gears and what gear I want is going to take a little time but overall the ride went great. I’ve decided that riding a 2-3 times a week to start is probably best.

This morning I stopped over at Cycleworks and picked up a basket for the front of the bike. Before heading back to work I was able to install it (another sense of pride!) but for some reason the back brake was locked up and the wheel wouldn’t turn. I didn’t get a chance to look at it until after work but it turned out the cable had come loose from the top so I was able to fix it myself pretty easily. I also took the water bottle of the old bike and installed it on the new one. I’m really loving this bike!

My plan for tomorrow, weather permitting, is to bike down to the grocery store and pick up a few things. This is one thing I’d really like to be able to do, along with eventually biking in to work. Having the basket is going to make this a bit easier. I’m excited and just hoping it doesn’t rain.

