Today was a great day to ride a bike, so I did.

Ross, who bikes a lot more than I do, said we should ride today and it sounded like fun. We decided to meet up at 11AM near the Rock Island trail crossing at J Street.  From there we biked downtown and he convinced me to ride on the streets and use the scary bike lanes. The thing about the downtown bike lanes here is they go right smack down the middle of the street, it doesn’t make sense.

We meet up with Kelli, Anthony and the De Jabets and had lunch at Noodles and Company and the plan was to just head home from there. I wanted to scope out the best route to campus before heading home so after eating we biked down to campus. We went over by the Union and ended up seeing a little bit of a Native American dancing event on the plaza. I decided we should go down and pick up the new Antelope trail and head back to J street. We biked down past the stadium and picked up the trail where I believe it begins and started riding. Once we got back to J street, for some reason we decided to head back up south on Rock Island.

Once we hit about Calvert Street I was getting tired and we did stop for a bit. It was Ross’s idea to head out to Southpointe to get ice cream. After sitting for a bit I decided I might as well try and we took Rock Island to 27th and switched over to the trails of Tierra and headed to Southpoint. I survived this bike ride and I’m proud of that. After enjoying some ice cream we hit the trail off 27th and biked a bit up Pine Lake to 14th. The wind was amazingly hard to peddle against going up Pine Lake but we made it. Grabbed Rock Island again and stopped at Joyride bikes at 16th and Old Cheney. They adjusted my seat and helped with my kickstand, which was nice. I ended up buying a set of lights for my bike, which I had been needing.

At this point I wasn’t sure if I would be able to make the ride back home and did have a contingency plan in place in case I couldn’t. After stopping and with the new higher seat I felt like I could make the ride back home – I didn’t want to be a quitter either. So we rode Rock Island down to 27th and Capital Parkway and parted ways. I took the trail past the zoo (Billy Wolf I think) and then went up A Street to 33rd and on home from there.

After today’s big ride I feel pretty confident that I can make that ride in to work – that whole 2.5 miles. My biggest issue is how to get everything I want to take to work with my, like my lunch and etc.

My next big goal is going to be working on speed, today’s ride was pretty slow and relaxed and I’m averaging only about 9 mph. I do really enjoying riding the bike and I actually like how tired I am by the end of the day. I sleep really well on biking days.

