This morning I went to PT and at the same time I picked up my medical records from my current foot doctor in order to shop around for a second opinion. I went and saw the same doctor that did surgery on my knee to see what he might suggest and while it’s not an area he does surgery in he did say given everything that’s gone on that foot surgery may be the only route left to try. I am going to be seeing another foot doctor on the 24th and then I suppose I have to make a decision. I’m more worried about this surgery than I was about the knee but it’s really not getting better.

The doctor today said that normally they tell people with plantar fasciitis to “stretch, stretch, stretch” and the problem generally lies in not stretching enough. I have heard this one before so I do stretch a lot – I stretch in the morning, before bed and a few times during the day at work or before/after I go for a ride.  He said that my flexibility was really good so I may have reach the limit of the benefits of stretching. He also commented that my heel spur was pretty impressive and that they don’t normal see one of that size in someone my age. He said that people come in talking about having this “big” heel spurs and normally they aren’t much but in my case it really is a huge spur. I believe he also said it was “angry” and really swollen.

I did get new shoes today, Brooks Ariels, to replace my old pair of Ariels. So far they have been pretty nice but I’m not sure they’ll be a miracle cure to my problems. One of them already has a scuff/oil mark from the bike though so that’s a little sad.

Some good news though, he went ahead and “released” me as far as my knee is concerned and I don’t need to go back. The knee is doing really well and I’m quite happy I went ahead with the surgery. Now I have to decide if the foot surgery is going to be worth it.

