I went in to see Dr. Swanson today at Nebraska Orthopeadic and Sports Medicine to get another opinion on my foot problem – well really I saw his awesome PA, Austin Young first. We went over everything and talked about the different things I had tried, what stretches I was doing, was I wearing inserts, etc etc. He went over the MRI and the X-rays and finally brought Dr. Swanson in to try and develop a treatment plan. He, the PA, hadn’t dealt with anyone that had the issues I appear to have after a cortisone injection. Dr. Swanson examined me and we talked some too and it sounds like surgery is the next option on the table since everything else failed. Right now I am scheduled to go in on June 29th to have a few things done.

The list is as follows (all on the left side):

  • Strayer procedure – this is basically a gastrocnemius slide, or even more basic, they make the calf muscle longer
  • Partial plantar fascia release – cutting away part of the ligament on the bottom of the foot
  • Excision of calcaneal spur – shaving off some of the heel spur
  • Release baxters nerve – release one of the nerves that might be entrapped by the swelling

The procedure is outpatient and I’ll be in a non-weight bearing splint for 2 weeks before moving to a walking boot/cast for another month. He has down no PT at this time so I’m not sure what the long term recovery plan really is.

The good thing though, is that I will still be able to do Trail Trek on the 27th, which I’m really excited for – 25 mile bike ride!

