So it turns out that today is National Running Day and I thought it would be good to post my feelings about running.

Running Path

I would love to be a runner. I dream of being one of those people that gets up early, drags out their precious running shoes and hits the pavement before doing anything else with the day. I think running would be awesome. I’m forever a dreamer and I hope someday I can make this dream come true.

Right now, running is not an option I have on the table. I am not bio mechanically designed to run, it appears. My feet have no arches and are prone to injury from just over walking. I still hold out hope though that someday, once the weight is off, once the surgery is over, that I will be able to start a Couch to 5k program. My goal was to run a 5k this year and right now I couldn’t easily walk one, not that I wouldn’t try and not that I don’t want to, it’s just too painful.

So instead, I rode my bike to work for National Running Day. (To be fair, I would have done that anyway, but it’s still something)

To all you runners out there – keep rocking on! Some day I hope to join you guys out there on the trails! Keep the light on for me!

