Today I did my large grocery shopping trip for the next week or two. I like to do large trips weekly or less and then make side trips when I need more fresh things. Buying fresh fruits and vegetables means going to the market more often but it’s totally worth it. I decided to line up my haul and post a picture.

Groceries

This food is shared between me and one very greedy little guinea pig, she really only eats vegetables though and the bagged lettuce is mostly for her, I prefer spinach.

Here’s a run down of what I bought:

  • Blackberries
  • Raspberries
  • Pears
  • Apples
  • Nectarines
  • Classic Romaine Lettuce Mix
  • Spinach
  • Green Peppers
  • Baby Carrots
  • Provolone Cheese Slices
  • Turkey Burgers
  • Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • Unsweetened Chocolate and Vanilla Almond Milk
  • Earth Grain Multi-Grain Thin Buns (which had a $1 off produce coupon)
  • Reduced Sodium Pinto Beans
  • Frozen Broccoli
  • Frozen Stir-fry Vegetables
  • Hard Boiled Eggs (Yes, I buy pre-boiled eggs. Boiling eggs ends in disaster for me)

Total cost: $53.43

This was a little over the budget for what I wanted to spend but I know if I don’t have healthy foods in the house I end up going out and getting junk. I was getting really low on foods to make meals the last couple days.

So – what are your favorite healthy foods to stock up on? Let me know in the comments!

