First, a disclaimer, this post is meant to be taken in general terms and is not specific to any one person or people in my life. If you think I’m talking about you, I’m not, so relax. 🙂

I have made some major changes in my life over the last year or so and I’ve begun to notice that when you change your life, it does effect other people too. Everyone in my life has been supportive of me and that’s been great. Not everyone is that lucky though and the following can happen. Do you have these people in your life?

The Enabler

The enabler is generally that person that you used to hang out with and feed your pie hole. This person has all your same, old, bad habits and doesn’t want to make the changes you have. They don’t understand why you no longer want to sit around eating half a pizza and watching B movies on cable.

The worst trait of the enabler though, is their desire to win you back to the dark side. They will invite you out to eat at places you no longer wish to go, constantly talk about unhealthy habits and even go so far as to offer you junk food even though they know you are trying hard to avoid it.

They probably just miss your friendship or don’t like seeing the negative aspects of their life reflected by your changes. So what can you do?  You have to either ignore it, talk it out with them or just let them go as a friend. At the end of the day, it’s better to surround yourself with friends in a like mindset and it may seem mean, but I think it’s necessary.

