After taking most of the week off riding in order to let my knee rest, I decided I’d better get out and ride some this morning before tomorrow’s big ride. At first I was just going to do a loop around Rock Island and come home. As I started biking down my street, I changed my mind, and went out to Oak Lake Park where tomorrow’s Trail Trek ride was starting from. I left pretty early this morning because I wanted to get ahead of the heat advisory this afternoon. The ride down wasn’t too bad, it’s about 4 miles and just goes a bit further than my normal ride to work.

Oak Lake Park

Oak Lake

While riding around the lake I started realizing that I was an hour early for picking up my trail packets. I had kind of figured I would ride to the lake, ride home and then drive back later to get my packet, because of the heat. Well then I remembered the Farmer’s Market was open so I decided to bike back there to waste some time and then go back out to the lake. I’m glad I went because I got some honey and a smoothie because by then it was getting pretty hot.

Bikes Parked at Farmer's Market

Farmer's Market

I was getting pretty hot and decided to take my smoothie and stand in the shade near the railroad tracks. Luckily there was a nice breeze going through there and that felt pretty good. I love looking at the old train platform.

Train Platform

Looking up at Platform

After I had spent enough time at the Farmer’s Market, I rode back out to Oak Lake and then on home using the Antelope Valley trail. Over near the trail is a coffee shop called Destinations that you wouldn’t even know about if you weren’t out wandering around.

Destinations

View from Antelope Valley Trail

Turtle in Union Plaza

Once I was nearing the end of my ride, I realized I could finally stop at Sips and Subs and get lunch. They never seem to be open when I go by there so I was happy. They also have air conditioning, which was nice.

Sips and Subs

In the end, I rode a little over 14 miles and everything seems fine. I iced my knee when I got home but haven’t noticed any extra pains or anything. Mostly I’m just a little more tired than normal because of the heat. I am so ready for that 25 mile ride tomorrow!

