By recent standards, I had a pretty busy day today complete with my first ventures out of the house. By the afternoon and now this evening, I’m pretty worn out and learned that crutches can quite the little workout.

Last night I was resting in bed with an ice pack on my leg and realized it was feeling a little wet and when I looked at the ice pack, it had leaked water out and some what pooled under my bandages. After some debate we finally decided to call the doctor’s office and check with the on call doctor on what we should do. The instructions said if the bandage got wet or dirty, to call for assistance. The on call doctor said it would be best to come by the office in the morning and have the bandages changed and cleaned.

So this morning I called and made a 10:00 appointment with one of the casting people. I went in and he removed the old splint and I got my first look at the wounds and they were impressive. There’s going to be some pretty nice scars when this is healed up. There’s a 3-4 inch incision down the side of my leg that’s currently being held together with staples and a long cut that basically runs from the side of my ankle, around the heel and to the bottom of my foot with at least a half dozen stitches. He removed everything, cleaned it all up and reapplied a new splint. My old splint was done with plaster but he made the new one using fiberglass so it’s a bit lighter now. He also wrapped my leg with a nice stocking first so the new splint really is a lot more comfortable.

After that errand we stopped by my house so I could pick up a few more things that I needed. I had originally planned on being home by now but it looks like it’ll be better for me to stay where I am for at least a few more days. After having my foot moved around a little by the new splint and after accidentally putting too much weight on it, I’m back up on the pain level. The accident was sad really, I was just turning on the crutches and felt like I was tipping backwards which cause my toes to just touch down long enough to shoot pain through my whole foot. It wasn’t fun at all.

For those that don’t know, this is the what the surgeon did:

  • Released 3/4 of the plantar fascia ligament from the heel of my foot
  • Removed a bit of bone spuring from my heel
  • Released (cut away) some of the tissue surrounding some nerves in my heel to relieve pressure
  • Cut and lengthened my calcaneal (achilles) tendon, I believe doing a Strayer procedure

My next follow up is July 12th and 7:30 am and should involve removing the splint and moving me into a walking boot with some additional supports, etc.

