It’s weird to think that just two weeks ago I was coming home from the hospital post surgery and now I’m finally back in my own home and mostly taking care of myself. I even went into work for part of the afternoon. I mostly went in to touch base with everyone and to see how I felt. Unfortunately it felt like it was too soon so I’m taking the rest of the week off. I’d really like to be less dependent on the crutches and I missed my afternoon nap.

I did spend most of today walking with a small amount of weight on my left foot and that was great progress. This evening I even took a couple of steps using only one crutch! That isn’t something I can do well yet but I’ll get there. Just need to keep taking small steps and soon I’ll be healed up and back at it.

With that in mind, it’s time to focus on my long term goals again. I want to get back into caring about my health, I’ve really let the eating choices slide the last couple weeks so it’s time to get that back on track. I need to get back to planning out my meals and sticking to that plan.

For exercise, I’ve found some videos on Youtube that show various exercises that can be done from a chair or bed. These aren’t high end workouts but any movements are better than sitting around doing nothing.

I still hope to start running before the end of the year but I have to also work with the fact that it may not happen as I have planned. So if I can’t do the running then I’ll have to fall in love with something else – like biking. I do like biking a lot so I suppose if that has to be my thing, then I’ll live. The important part of life is to be happy, healthy and just take what comes my way.

