One of the problems that I have developed during my recovery time is that I’m no longer careful about what I eat. My biggest problem arises from being bored and inactive so I end up turning to eating as an activity to fill that void. In order to combat this faulty thought process I came up with the following list of things I can do instead of eating. From this point on, any time I feel the need to eat for no reason I’m going to pick something of this list to do instead. Some of the things on this list will have to wait until I’m further along in my recovery but I feel like I have plenty of options.

Exercise

  • Do some yoga moves
  • Walk on the treadmill
  • Ride the exercise bike
  • Walk around the block
  • Ride my bike around outside
  • Lift weights
  • Do resistance band exercises
  • Do push ups
  • Do crunches
  • Jumping jacks
  • Do stretches
  • Practice juggling
  • Throw a ball against the wall
  • Find a new exercise video to try

Keep Busy

  • Learn to play the guitar
  • Learn how to knit
  • Learn to make simple jewelry
  • Organize bills
  • Find things to sell or donate
  • Clean
  • Doodle
  • Write in my journal
  • Write blog posts
  • Write a short story
  • Read a magazine
  • Read a chapter or more in a book
  • Meditate
  • Play a video game (for a short amount of time)
  • Watch a movie or TV show
  • Take a bath and relax
  • Make lists of things

So happy readers – what would you add to this list? Please let me know in the comments!


