I haven’t blogged in awhile because I’m still trying to figure out how this blog fits in with everything else I’m tracking online but I thought it would be good to give a quick update on my post surgery status.

It’s been an up and down journey so far but I finally seem to be on the better side of healing. I’m out of the walking boot and doing quite well walking around in two shoes. It’s taken me a lot of physical therapy, including biking, to get to this point. I had a few minor set backs when transitioning out of the boot including some tendinitis and a possible ankle sprain. Those problems seem to be cleared  now though and I hope it stays that way.

I don’t see the doctor again until November 1st and I still need to go in for physical therapy some but I’m not going in at all this week which is a nice break.  I know that post strayer procedure my calf muscle isn’t the same on the left as on the right and it is a little weird. There seems to be a large build up of muscle tissue around the actual cut and the upper part of the muscle is taking its sweet time in strengthening back up. I’m having occasional massage done on the calf muscle to see if that can help smooth it out but it might be something I just learn to live with.

I wanted to make sure and post an update in case someone planning to have this surgery wanders in here looking for others in the same situation. At this point I can say that getting the surgery done was worth all the rehab because it finally seems like the original heel pain is gone now. It’s just down to finishing up the strengthening and I can handle that pretty easily.

