It’s a new day, it’s a new plan, it’s a new deal!

Over the past few weeks I have been regrouping and thinking about what I want out of life. I don’t have a lot of answers yet but I have come up with a new plan of action.

Monthly Weighing

I decided, for my own mental stability, that I could no longer be so scale/weight oriented. Yes, I want to lose weight, but it’s not the deciding factor in this journey. I was going to go with weekly weigh ins but I need to make a break. I am going down to monthly weigh ins because I’ve seen it work well for other bloggers. It’s a healthy approach because I still keep tabs of my weight without that number becoming more important than it needs to be.

Calorie Counting

For the last year and a half I have spent a lot of time counting every calorie in and trying to estimate my calories out. This is an exhausting approach and it was starting to wear on me. I still think it’s important to know what you are burning so you can compensate accordingly, for health reasons, but I want to focus on something I can maintain for my whole life. I cannot maintain counting calories so I need to learn how to make good choices without tracking everything I bite. I know what I need to do so it’s just a matter of doing it.

Fitness Plan

I’m still trying to work out a new fitness plan but what I do know is that I need to slow it down a little and be smart about it. I get over committed to the things that I am doing and I end up either injuring myself or getting burned out. The things I enjoy are walking, biking and weight training. I think I got to aggressive with the bike riding and started putting in too many miles for my actual level. I am still dealing with post-surgery rehab, to some extent, but I’ve also created a new problem – hip bursitis. Now this new injury probably began from my bike accident (which I forgot to blog -oops) but my near unwillingness to rest has created a bigger problem.

My thoughts right now are to back down a bit from the crazy fitness and focus on a normal level of exercise. I’m going to start with keeping my treadmill times to 20 mins and using weight equipment when I have access. I’m back to debating if I should join a gym again and have been eying Anytime Fitness. The nicest thing about Anytime Fitness is there is one in the town where my brother lives and I’d be able to go there too.

So my focus is on keeping up with recovery while moving forward with new plans. I really want to start running and once my hip issue seems cleared up, I can start training. My physical therapist even gave me a plan to try that should, hopefully, keep me from injuring myself. I’m going to basically be doing a couch to 5k type program and will chronicle that here when the time comes to start. I’m hoping to be able to start at the end of November or beginning of December.

The Blog

I really want to work more with my blog and start posting more often. I’m still trying to figure out what I want from my site but I know that I have some amount of value to add to the world, I just need to figure out how. Hopefully good changes will be coming soon.

Life Plan

My life planning has taken some turns and I still don’t know what it is that I really want to do. I applied to the Medical Assisting program at Southeast Community College and I’m still waiting on confirmation that I was accepted for March 2011. The problem now, though, is I’m not sure that’s what I want to do. I would like to do Physical Therapy Assistant but I’m wait listed for that program until July 2013. I’m now leaning towards not doing the MA program and just focus on my current journey while waiting to get into the other program. I could save more money this way and spend more time figuring out a good plan.

What I want to do, really, is work with people and help people. I want to motivate and cheer on others and help them see whatever it is they are trying to accomplish. I wonder about other things too – personal training, coaching, sports related fields, etc. I want to do these things but I think it’s important that I finish working on myself first and I’m still a work in progress – but then again, aren’t we all?

