I know it’s not really called the Dinosaur Diet but I’m going to call it that so it sounds more awesome. I was motivated by Steve’s 30 day paleo diet to go ahead and join him and do the challenge myself. I have been reading about the paleo diet and it’s actually a fairly sound set up from a clean foods stand point. I’m a big fan of clean foods and I think this 30 day challenge will help me get back into eating the way I actually enjoy.

I’m planning to easy into paleo for the first few days though and probably won’t go 100% paleo but rather stick to the 80/20 rule. I mostly plan to make an exception for yogurt (quality yogurt with clean ingredients  and possibly milk because I need a source of vitamin D supplementation due to a known deficiency.

Today I bought a grill pan at ShopKo so I can cook up my veggies and meat grilled style which is how I really like my steak and asparagus. I can’t wait for the farmers’ market to start and hope to get most of my foods there.

For those that don’t know the paleo diet the following are the basic foods you eat:

  • Lean meats including eggs
  • Seafood
  • Healthy fats
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables

Anything that doesn’t fall into that list is considered non-paleo. This means no dairy, legumes, sweets, salty snacks, or grains. It’s going to take time to adjust to not eating cheese or grains but I know I can do it.

I still need to go shopping and start meal planning to make this easier. I see eating a lot of eggs for breakfast but that’s something I used to do all the time, but this time there won’t be cheese involved. I’m really interested to see if this will help with some of my health problems, especially my fructose malabsorption.

Adding fructmal restrictions to paleo isn’t too difficult, just can’t eat some types of fruit, especially apples for some reason. The fruits I do best with are oranges and berries so I’ll still have some I can eat. Mostly I need to fill up on vegetables because most of those are good to go, except maybe tomatoes and onions but I’m still not positive.

