I started my job last week and right now I’m working from 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM CST. I decided the best way to get to the gym would be to just get up at 5:45 and go before work. This leaves me plenty of time in the morning to get ready for work too.

I have started focusing on swimming as my main form of exercise right now. I like to start out with a little water walking and then do some body weight exercises like squats, leg lifts, etc. The water really helps me a lot because it takes the impact off my joints plus it feels great.

I took swimming lessons as a kid so I do know the basic strokes but I am way out of practice. I spend part of my time in the pool working on fundamentals so I can start doing laps. I am currently working on being able to put my head under the water and time my breathing. Today was the first time I was able to swim a crawl stroke across the deep end, which is about a third of a lap lane long, and get my breathing under control.

I know with time this will get easier because I will learn and train myself to swim better. That’s pretty exciting really because I can do this and I’m already showing improvement. Plus, just being in the pool floating around feels awesome.

